Northern Canada Power Commission.—The Commission was established by Act of Parliament in 1948 to provide electric power to points in the Northwest Territories where a need developed and where power could be supplied on a self-sustaining basis; the Act was amended in 1950 to give authority to the Commission to provide similar services in the Yukon Territory. The name of the Commission, formerly Northwest Territories Power Commission, was changed in 1956. The Commission is composed of a chairman and two members appointed by the Governor in Council. The Commission operates four hydro-electric plants, two of which are located in the Northwest Territories on the Snare River near Yellowknife, and two in the Yukon Territory on the Yukon River at Whitehorse and on the Mayo River near Mayo; a fifth hydro plant under construction on the Taltson River near Fort Smith, N.W.T., is scheduled for completion in 1965. Diesel electric plants are operated at Fort Smith, Fort Simpson, Fort Resolution and Frobisher Bay, N.W.T., and Field, B.C., diesel power and central heating plants at Inuvik and Frobisher Bay, N.W.T., and Moose Factory, Ont., and water supply and sewerage systems at Inuvik and Moose Factory. The Commission also operates, on behalf of the Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources, diesel electric plants at Fort McPherson and Aklavik, N.W.T., heating plants at Fort McPherson, Fort Simpson and Frobisher Bay, N.W.T., and domestic water supply and sewerage systems at Fort McPherson, Fort Simpson and Frobisher Bay.

The Commission reports to Parliament through the Minister of Northern Affairs and National Resources.

Northern Transportation Company Limited.—This Company was incorporated in 1947 under the title of Northern Transportation Company (1947) Limited, the date being omitted from the name in 1952. Previously a company chartered under an Alberta statute, it has been a wholly owned subsidiary of Eldorado Mining and Refining Limited since that Crown company was established and carries out the business of a common carrier in the Mackenzie River watershed. The Company is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Trade and Commerce.

Park Steamship Company Limited.—After World War II this Company acted as an agent for Crown Assets Disposal Corporation in the sale and delivery to purchasers of government warbuilt ships. This work is completed but the Company remains available to carry out any appropriate duties. It has no staff of its own, any necessary work being done by the staff of the Canadian Maritime Commission (see p. 133). The Company reports to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

Polymer Corporation Limited.—This Corporation was established in 1942 by Letters Patent under the Companies Act and is subject to the Government Companies Operation Act (RSC 1952, c. 133) and the Financial Administration Act (RSC 1952, c. 116). It was set up to construct and operate a synthetic rubber plant which now produces a variety of synthetic rubber products and some chemicals. The Corporation's principal plant is located at Sarnia, Ont., with specialty rubber and butyl plants in France and Belgium, respectively. The Corporation is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Industry in his capacity as Minister of Defence Production.

St. Lawrence Seaway Authority.—The St. Lawrence Seaway Authority was established by Act of Parliament in 1951 (RSC 1952, c. 242) and came into force by proclamation on July 1, 1954. The Authority was incorporated for the purposes of constructing, maintaining and operating all such works as may be necessary to provide and maintain, either wholly in Canada or in conjunction with works undertaken by an appropriate authority in the United States, a deep waterway between the Port of Montreal and Lake Erie. The Authority is composed of a president, a vice president and a member, and reports to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

Unemployment Insurance Commission.—The Commission was appointed on Sept. 24, 1940 under the provisions of the Unemployment Insurance Act, 1940 (RSC 1952, c. 273). It is composed of three commissioners appointed by the Governor in Council, of whom one is designated chief commissioner. One commissioner, other than the chief commissioner, is appointed after consultation with organizations representative of workers and the other after consultation with organizations representative of employers. The Chief Commissioner is appointed to hold office for a period of ten years and each of the other Commissioners to hold office for a period not exceeding ten years. The Commission is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Labour.